I am not a good communicator.

I wonder why that is.If I were to find out the different reasons for why I fail to communicate effectively,the list would be endless.But I am willing to share here what I think are the valid reasons.
I for one am an Immigrant in America,and come from a country where English was not my first language.I know that Lack of words makes a poor communicator.
There is nothing like a possibility of only two possible cases of extreme ends.There is a whole spectrum of Excellent communicator where majority of the people lie somewhere in between and about 10% of the people or fewer
lie at extreme and opposite ends.I believe more than 90% of the people in this world are poor communicators .I just read an article about the popular authors where they are being interviewed and are asked to state their procedures to write and what the trouble are that they go through.Khaled Hosseini of Kite Runner;Stephen King Jonathan Franzen and more were stating their struggles and I found something that made me feel a little better about my oratory skills and also urged me to do something to solve a problem.
Here’s an excerpt from Mr.Hosseini’s interview had on his struggles with writing in his own words “You write because you have an idea in your mind that feels so genuine, so important, so true. And yet, by the time this idea passes through the different filters of your mind, and into your hand, and onto the page or computer screen—it becomes distorted, and it’s been diminished. The writing you end up with is an approximation, if you’re lucky, of whatever it was you really wanted to say.”   Here’s a link to the article  http://www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2013/12/how-to-write-a-year-in-advice-from-franzen-king-hosseini-and-more/282445/
I know that if I were to grade all the statements I’ve spoken/written so far in my life to express my desire , opinion , view , thoughts and concern on different topics and put them on the above spectrum then most of if not all would fall under the half that is labelled extremely poor communicator.
Now ,how does it transfer to or apply in real life? Well,my listener is going to think I said something else and thus I will not get/receive what I actually hoped for or desired.Mistakes and carelessness can cause one a lot to lose .Being precise and accurate is very critical be it your personal relationship or a business/work.Your Communication skills define what you will be and what you will get.
There is a co-relation between one’s command over language and their intelligence level.I am very well aware of the sad fact that I am a poor communicator.It is difficult for me to express my inner thoughts to anyone.Of course there are other reason too besides poor communication but it hurts me when I don’t care to make some changes.I have noticed the same problem in other people too,especially at work place. What I wonder is why do people not even care to learn and improve their communication skills if they are aware of it. With effective and clear communication people can improve their relationship ,have a better and smooth marriage life,less errors at business and overall less frustration and inconsistencies.

I think I have OCD and thus I tend to blog hastily even before it looks and feels complete ,because I like it when people like my blog and I get a notification .so,I can’t just wait till the blog is over,so to get the likes I publish incomplete and unfinished blog and then after publishing it already I add more content and make changes.

Leave a Reply

